(a brief overview by The International Center for Reiki Training of Southfield Michigan)

July 2011 180“Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing.  It is administered by “laying on hands” or from a distance and is based on the idea that an unseen “life force energy” flows through us and is what causes us to be alive.  If one’s “life force energy” is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress.  If it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.”

“The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words – Rei which means “God’s Wisdom” or the “Higher Power” and Ki which is “life force energy.”  So Reiki is actually “spiritually guided life force energy.”  Reiki is a simple, natural and safe method of spiritual healing and self-improvement that everyone can use.  It has been effective in helping virtually every known illness and malady and always creates a beneficial effect.  It also works in conjunction with all other medical or therapeutic techniques to improve well being, relieve side effects and promote recovery.”

While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion.  There is nothing you must believe in order to learn and use Reiki.  In fact, Reiki will work whether you believe in it or not.  Reiki comes from an infinite source and can connect us to our infinite self and true nature.

There are five precepts related to the practice of Reiki.  The ideals are both guidelines for living a gracious life and virtues worthy of practice for their inherent value.  Their purpose is to help people realize that healing the spirit by consciously deciding to empower oneself, is a necessary part of the Reiki healing experience.  In order for the Reiki healing energies to have lasting results, the client must accept responsibility for her or his healing and take an active part in it.

The Five Precepts Are:

  1. Just for today I will trust and let go of worry
  2. Just for today I will allow myself to feel anger and let go of it
  3. I will do my work with honesty and integrity
  4. I will accept the many blessings of life and express gratitude
  5. I will be kind to myself and all living things
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *